Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Raised spindles
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
914_1.8t
I want to go this route, but need to know who sells them? I've been unable to find it on the net. (for a SC front suspension)

Also, how difficult is it to do on your own and how exactly is it done? sawzall-smiley.gif
Does any one have any detailed pics of a raised spindle shock/strut?
Mueller
for local, I'd try SmartRacing Products, give them a call, if they cannot point you to someone, I know Chris Foley does them back East CFR Welding

I would think there has to be someone local that does this welder.gif
Korijo
www.tangerineracing.com

Racer Chris does them. Send him yours, and some cash...

Mine look good smilie_pokal.gif (already done by Chris).
brant
not that I'm an expert on this...
and for the record, I've never done it as it wasn't class legal in most places.....

but I think it depends upon the brand of strut you have as to how easy and affordable this is...

It is not a cheap process

I'll let others (chris foley) etc, give you educated advice.

brant
Mueller
Brant.....Audi motor, audi transmission.....no worries about "class legal" smile.gif
914GT
QUOTE(914_1.8t @ Nov 10 2004, 10:47 AM)
Also, how difficult is it to do on your own and how exactly is it done?

I've never done it. My understanding is the welds attaching the spindle to the strut tube are simply ground off, then the spindle is repositioned and rewelded.
Mueller
hey Sonu....I'll buy those early 5 lug flanges off of you if you still have them....
brant
QUOTE(Mueller @ Nov 10 2004, 01:44 PM)
Brant.....Audi motor, audi transmission.....no worries about "class legal" smile.gif

oh yeah...
1.8T .... duh...

Still if memory serves, one type of strut (? Bilsteen/boge) is easy or hard due to the shape of the tube....

After he learns the answer I don't know... he may want to buy the correct brand and send them as cores, then re-sell his..