Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Recommendation for Rust Repair
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
dcecc1968
I am a new member and need some help from the experts. I have recently purchased a 914 as a project for my sons and I to work on together on the weekend, but didn't do a thorough inspection. I failed to identify and understand the amount of rust / welding that would be required. While I'm a novice mechanic (on a good day), I do not weld. I'd like a recommendation on a shop (or member) nearby Charlotte, NC that has does good work. I want to make the car safe to drive and have someone do the repair that has done it before. Right now, I know I have:
- Rust in the passenger longitudinal (top of door pinches)
- Rust on the frame mount for passenger-side engine carrier bar (this scares me.. alot)
- Rust in floor pan under the driver's seat (floor is crunchy)
- Possibly a "fiberglassed" inner fender repair near the battery tray.
- And yes, I know there will as much other rust as I want to look for

Also, I might get it painted at the same time as the repair work.

Thanks for your help in advance, I appreciate it.
-Don
mepstein
Don - welcome.png

Scotty B is the man.
check out this thread - http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?sho...=183248&hl=

My car is at Scott's as well. Good luck, Mark

BTW - There is AA place in Atlanta GA that I would not go to for rust repair.
carr914
Black Forest Racing is in NC & is an expert in 914s
dlee6204
bye1.gif Hi neighbor! welcome.png Sounds like you've got quite the project. I'm local and might be able to help you and/or recommend a place. I'll shoot you a PM.
last337
I have the same problem with crunchy floor pan under drivers seat but was going to put off awhile. My only concern is the seat rails on that side. Just making sure that those are not attached to floor pans are they? The rails seem very solid
jimkelly