Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Newbie with Issues
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
hotrodalley
I have a 74 1.8L with L-Jetronic. I have replaced starter multiple times. The car will typically start fine with new starter a number of times - sometimes for a couple of days then it will just not start. I will hear a "clicking sound" similar to a dead battery but that is not the situation (although I am at a point of just changing out the battery)

In addition, i'll get a stalling condition as I come to stop signs. Otherwise the car runs fine.

Could these conditions be related?

Has anyone experienced these conditions?

Any help would be appreciated as I am new to the the 914.

thanks much
pilothyer
How are you testing the battery? If you are just measuring 12 volts at the terminals, even a marginal battery will test good that way....you should check it under load, such as with the headlights on. Just sounds like to me your battery is about gone. You may have a loose or dirty battery ground connection where the Neg. battery cable attaches to the body
ellisor3
Also check the condition of the ground strap from the trans to the body. If it is worn or not connected very well, it can cause problems.
cary
Ditto on cleaning all the ground connections.
turk22
When I had a problem with the starter not engaging (just clicking), it was that the positive cable from the battery had a very internally corroded cable. I removed the end of the cable, cut it back to good clean copper, and replaced the connector to the battery. Car started right up, and it was a $5 fix.

There is a thread out there about my troubleshooting steps, with lots of cleaning of the ground connections, and checking of the battery, and solinoid connections.

I don't think the starter and stalling are connected. I would expect the stalling at stop would be either idle adjustment, vaccuum lines not conneted, or possibly a MPS or CHT failure.

Turk
hot_shoe914