Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Project: PorschaGO (turning a rust bucket into a daily driver)
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
niner
WTF.gif How did this get so long???

Warning: long boring background/intro story coming, you may want to skip to the next post!

Hi guys! I'm new to the world, at least this "world". I stopped by for a few months in the early 2000's and then other interests intervened. I'm not new to Porsches, when I was 15 my dad helped me buy a 1973 914 that was 3 years old. Sounds sweet right? Except this 914 was actually 2 wrecked 914's that had been grafted together. Not too bad right? Except the good "ass end" besides having it's front end crushed caught fire after the wreck. And the good front end had it's ass crushed in a wreck and then the good front end was stripped as a parts car. So in the end I had a bastard of a 914 that was a real project. But I had a "Porsche"! smile.gif

So to get to the point of this post, I'm building a modern Subaru powered 914 daily driver.
niner
So my first step was to grab one of my "in stock" project cars right? lol-2.gif Nope, what's the fun in that?

So I go out and find a new(to me) 914, a 914 that 20 years ago I would have stripped and sold it's parts and stuffed it's cut up carcass in the dumpster. You see I have a huge problem deviating from what came from the factory and it would be very hard for me to cut into a unmolested chassis.