Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Newbie needs help!
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
rickwenner@acninc.net

Tried to go for a drive today. Pulling the car out of the garage it backfired a once and had a slight hesitation. Then as I started to pull out it also died. It started back up and a I pulled out, then a very strong hesitation, bucking forward and it died.
It would starting back up, but not stay running.

It was turning over just fine, but just didn't want to fire up.

It's a 1.8 fuel injected 75.

Any help on where I should start looking for my problem would be much appreciated. I'm sure I'm being a bit vague with my issues but like I said I'm a complete newbie and learning as I go.
timothy_nd28
After starting the car, will it idle indefinitely but stall when you put it in gear?
L73
Yep, this reminds me of me 6 years ago with my L-jet
before I went to .... Carbs,MSD and Mallory Dizzy...
Never had a problem again...

Start with simple things...
Vacume Lines... Make sure everything is hooked up properly
Pelican has a great hose layout on there website..
How is the gasket under the oil filler ?

Is the fuel pump running and are you injecters energized ??
If not check your air flow meter... With the key on
Open the black cap on the meter move the needle to here the pump start...

Check the points and timing... Make sure the spark plug
wires are on right...what does the rotor look like ??

Good Luck
rick 918-S
welcome.png Check the fuel pump relay.
jdlmodelt
Make sure one of your injector wires didn't come loose. check your vacuum hoses..
rickwenner@acninc.net
QUOTE(timothy_nd28 @ Feb 10 2013, 05:43 PM) *

After starting the car, will it idle indefinitely but stall when you put it in gear?

No, it will not idle. just dies, it will restart but then dies.

I see some gas under the fuel pump regulator, I guess that I may have a fuel line problem.
timothy_nd28