Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: NEW HERE:)
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Tyler_TheMan_93
ok so i just bought a 1976 porsche 914 from my girlfriends dad and it hasnt been started since 1986. he said that he thinks the cylinder wall was messed up something. but anyway its been sitting since 86' and i would like to know what to do/check before i try to start it. i am new to the porsche world so i look forward to talking with all of you.

here are some pics: the interior is amazingly clean

Click to view attachment Click to view attachmentClick to view attachmentClick to view attachment
tscrihfield
welcome.png

Looks nice!

Did he happen to say why he thinks that? What engine size?
tumamilhem
Very nice! Welcome to 914 World! I hope you enjoy your car as much as we do! I was very excited when I got my first 914 which was a real junk car. Now I'm on my third one in 10 years. smile.gif

FYI, my first one had an A/C unit in it. The A/C unit will reduce power in your car significantly. There's not much horsepower to begin with, so it does make a difference. They are a real pain in the ass to install and remove, so depending on where you are, if you don't really need it and want to sell it, I know JRust is looking for one for his V8 conversion. I would have happily given him mine if I still had it. They were not factory, but a dealer option. Because of the reduction in HP, they were not too common except in climates like mine (FL). But they are few and far between, so if you want to sell it, JRust will probably be interested in it. smile.gif

Welcome to the club!
Spoke
welcome.png

Nice ride.

To get it going, at least check the oil level, perhaps change if necessary. Once you get it running, definitely change the oil.

Check the condition of the gas. You will have to siphon some gas out of the tank to take a look at it. If varnished, you have to remove all the gas and clean the tank, maybe even redo all the hoses.