Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: door panel construction
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
r3dplanet
Peeps,

Allow me to begin by stating that I've never done this before. Well, not for twenty years anyway when I was an undergrad working in a furniture restoration shop as a college job.

I bought one of Mikey914's cool new fiberglass door panel and vinyl kits as seen here:
http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?sho...10198&st=20

For additional reference: http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?sho...=54608&st=0

Armed with this how-to, I'm off to work in an empty bedroom because it's Portland, WCR is three weeks away, and it's pouring rain outside.

I admit I'm lost without a stapler. There are two things I don't know how to do. I have the aluminum strip riveted in and the bolster is nicely aligned with positive lock. But I don't know exactly how to attach the vinyl on the backside without a stapler. Sure there's contact cement, but it doesn't seem like that would work conveniently because you can't just inch your way along and keep the vinyl nice and and tight around the corners.

Any ideas from those smarter than I?

-marcus
r3dplanet
Well, I *think* the answer is contact cement. Yes, it's just glue. Yes, I wonder about how long it will last. Yes, the manufacturer website says that it won't actually hold forever. Yes, I would feel better with some sort of metal fastener.

But here it is. The contact cement had a different behavior than I was expecting. I glued up both the fiberglass and the vinyl back and let them sit for 15 minutes, just as the can says to do. It felt weird because after this period the glue was not tacky at all. But after squishing the parts together they held quite well, and allowed me to inch along as I had hoped. I actually split this job into three sections just to keep from being stupid.

Problem-o solved-o.

At least for now.

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment
GeorgeRud