Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Thinking of carbing a 1.7L from 1971 car
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Hawk
I have a new to me fairly rust free 1971 914 w/ 1.7L that was finicky to start with and now impossible to get started. Ive replaced vacuum hoses, engine temp sensor, spark plugs, points, rotor , fuel pump and I'm fed up now and thinking of converting to carburators. I have no experience here and am seeking opinions on what to do, where to get parts and mostly, how to do the job without costing more than the car is worth. OK gurus, please weigh in. Thanks.
-Richard
dlo914
getting any spark at all 4 plugs?
skline
If it is a stock 1.7 with FI then just pick up one of those single progressive carb setups and drive it till you need to rebuild. It will get you on the road and have about the same power without changing the cam.
Rhodes71/914
I would try to troubleshoot the djet first, spark is a good start as mentioned above. Then pull the injectors one at a time and place them in a glass jar or something similar, remove wire from coil to dist. and make sure they are shooting fuel.
mattillac
check spark at plugs. check power to fuel pump. check crap in gas tank blocking lines. check fi relays. check fuses. check compression. check all fi connections. check battery. check old fuel filter. oh fuck it, just buy a toyota. lol2.gif
skline
Ok, Well, if you want to troubleshoot the FI, dont foget to check the FI points in the distributor. They are underneath the ingition points. They come out the side of the dizzy.
mattillac
what happens when you turn the key? any noises? no noise? does anything happen at all? confused24.gif
DJsRepS