Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 1.8 to 2.0 engine conversion
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
-JR-
Hey guys, I'm a new 914 owner and have been a 914 "wanter" for some time. I bought a car that I knew needed engine work but it had a great body!

So now I am looking at the engine work and I am thinking up upgrading my EV case 1.8L engine to a 2.0.

I've never worked on a air cooled motor before and from what I gather this conversion is pretty straight forward. However, having said that I'm not convinced that it's as easy as just buying larger pistons and cylinders.

Can someone please spell out for me all the parts that are different from a 1.8 to a 2.0L engine if there isn't too much? I'd really appreciate it!

I did search the forum and didn't find any topic covering this.

-JR-
qa1142
Good question, I am starting same project
Rhodes71/914
Are you going to use carbs or FI?

Oh and Welcome, you have come to the right place.
-JR-
It's got dual webbers on it right now actually. Someone converted it in the past. I'll have to check the cam once I get it appart to see if they also changed that.
Mueller
cranks are different

66mm for 1.7/1.8

71mm for 2.0

rods are different

heads are different (2.0 heads a little better, but tend to crack more often)

pistons and cylinders are different

you can add larger pistons and cylinders to your existing engine...the most common would increase it to a 1911, but it'll still be a short stroke engine
bondo
Shameless plug:

My classified ad for 2.0 engine parts

I see you already found it JR smile.gif

As far as I have been told, all these parts are the same as a 914 2.0 except the pistons (dished instead of flat) and the heads (same as a 1.8 914)
-JR-