Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914-6 oil tank?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
chad newton
Ok, I am new to anything porsche and I was wondering on my conversion I am going to be doing why do I need to stick with a factory oil tank? I wouldn't mind going to some aftermarket one that holds more oil to begin with. If someone could help, what options do I have? Is there one I can use that is alittle cheaper then factory? I am not looking to do a 914-6 recreation, I am basically building a track car that can still function as a street car. The oil cooler is just the beginning of my million questions I will probably be picking guys brains with. Thankyou.
sixnotfour
beer3.gif
Jeffs9146
It's not the stock tank, it is a tank in the stock location that makes the conversion more ideal for a street car. But for a track car you can put it where ever you want, so it doesn't matter what it looks like!

Here is my nonstock tank in the stock location! You can see the filler neck in the stock location!

Click to view attachment
Elliot Cannon
My non-stock tank that will someday, sometime be installed in the stock location to provide oil for a six of some size and HP that maybe someday will more than likely be installed in my car some day. Soon. Maybe. In all likelihood. But not next week almost for sure.
type47
this link to a thread about an oil tank group buy shows alot of your options and discussion:

http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?sho...+tank+group+buy

or enter "914-6 oil tank" including quotes into Search of Garage for a bunch of related threads
brant
More info. A tank in the rear trunk is the wrong direction to move weight for balance and handling. A front roundy tank requires large return lines to the motor which eat into any cost savings. Also the front tank isn't legal for some vintage clubs (mine)
GeorgeRud