Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 1972 914 crank no start
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Number47
ok here goes. i have been enlisted to help a friend that has little automotive background get his 72 914 running after a 5+ years in storage. this far i have pumped the gas tank empty and filled with fresh. the fuel pump runs till it builds pressure then stops running. i have spark into the dist. cap but no spark out. cap and rotor were new when parked. now the rotor is nothing like i have ever seen before. i have very limited experience with american muscle and im a diesel mechanic for a living so this whole extra ignition system is borderline voodoo to me. i cant seem to get this sob to run and im bound and determine to do so. so if anyone can tell me what i need to look for that would be great. also i need to know the location of the fuel pump and fuel filter(havent looked yet but figured im on here ill ask anyway). thanks for any help and if more info is needed let me know and ill get it promptly as possible. vin will be here soon
Mike Bellis
welcome.png

If you have spark to the distributor, you should have spark to the plugs unless your cap or rotor are bad.
Dave_Darling
If the rotor is unlike any you've ever seen it probably is the rev-limiting rotor. It has a centrifugal weight that gets pulled against a spring to short out the spark when the rotor is spinning fast enough. These usually don't plain outright fail (as opposed to being intermittent) but it is possible. Do you have a "normal" rotor that you can swap in?

Rev-limiting rotor: http://www.pelicanparts.com/cgi-bin/smart/...%2529%2520%2520

Non-rev-limiting rotor: http://www.pelicanparts.com/cgi-bin/smart/...%2520%2520%2520

--DD
Mblizzard
If you still have points upgrade to the electronic ignition module. It will be the best money you could spend at this point. Petronix or Hot spark make reasonably priced units.