Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Best way to add heat to a Subaru conversion?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
CptTripps
I would like to add heat and defrost to my Subaru conversion, but I'm not sure the best way to do it. Now, I'm no expert on the ventalation system of these cars, but I was hoping to have something simple like 2 discrete motors. One for the vents on the dash, and another for the defrost.

The stock heat blowers are intact on the car, but I don't believe they're hooked up at all, since the PO had a SB350 installed. That motor is going bye-bye, and I'm not sure the best way to add something to replace it. I don't need fire shooting out of the vents like my Land Rover, just enough to get the windscreen clear and take the edge off of a cool night.

I see a few aftermarket blowers that I can put in-line with the heat tubes, but how should I GET the heat? Is thee a way to do it from the water in the radiator?
bfrymire
QUOTE(CptTripps @ Dec 16 2013, 07:30 PM) *

I would like to add heat and defrost to my Subaru conversion, but I'm not sure the best way to do it. Now, I'm no expert on the ventalation system of these cars, but I was hoping to have something simple like 2 discrete motors. One for the vents on the dash, and another for the defrost.

The stock heat blowers are intact on the car, but I don't believe they're hooked up at all, since the PO had a SB350 installed. That motor is going bye-bye, and I'm not sure the best way to add something to replace it. I don't need fire shooting out of the vents like my Land Rover, just enough to get the windscreen clear and take the edge off of a cool night.

I see a few aftermarket blowers that I can put in-line with the heat tubes, but how should I GET the heat? Is thee a way to do it from the water in the radiator?

How about a hot rod heater? Speedway motors has one...

--brett
bulitt