Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Idle issues, and I dont mean American Idol
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
J0n52 914
type.gif seeking knowledge and wisdom from the all mighty "Forum". Collectively ya'll should spot this post, scratch your heads, laugh just a bit and remember when you too had this problem.

I am a shade tree mechanic so please use small words.

car:
1972 914-4 1.7 with stock fuel injection still in use.

Problem:
I start the car and it idles fine cold, as it warms the idle goes up to 2000rpm and even after driving an hour does not come down to a lower idle. The temp outside today in sunny FL is a chilly 72 (f) driving.gif

A friend recommended stating with the air temp sensor on top the engine, so I replaced it. No change. Starts and idles at 600-700rpm as it warms the idle goes up to 1800-2000rpm.

I have no clue. headbang.gif

Ideas????
Jon
Spoke
Could be a number of things.

Assuming you have a 4-cylinder (you stated 914-6) 1.7L with DJET FI, intake leaks are treated similarly to opening the throttle.

Perhaps the AAR is not closing. This will cause the engine to idle faster when warmed up.
J0n52 914
first of all, oops.. was dreaming of a 6 cyl. Thanks for the correction.

I will give it to you, a 3 letter work is small. Umm, what is an AAR.

Thanks
Jon
Krieger
This is your auxiliary air valve. It allows extra air when the engine is cold. As the engine warms it should close. When your engine is warmed up, carefully pull this hose that I'm pointing to off. Then plug the valve it came off with your finger. If your idle drops you found the culprit. If not check to see if the other hose going to that same valve is intact and connected to the intake plenum (the throttle body is mounted to the plenum)
euro911
AARs are known to 'coke-up' and stick. Sometimes they can be freed up by removing it and soaking the valve ports with PB Blaster.