Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: rear shocks
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
fduval
Hi , I am new to the 914 ownership, just bought the car from member KADUKU !
The rear end of the car is kind of very soft, I guess
the rear shocks need to be replaced, what do you guys recommend for street use .
The car is a 1973 with a 2 liter engine.
Thanks

smarens
I'm in the same boat, are you looking at doing just shocks or springs also? I've see a lot about not using KYB, good things about Bilstein and upgrading to 100lb springs over stock 90lb, I'm thinking of doing mine myself but need to get a spring compressor, sorry to not have expert advice but that is just what I have read so far
fduval
QUOTE(smarens @ Apr 5 2014, 12:11 PM) *

I'm in the same boat, are you looking at doing just shocks or springs also? I've see a lot about not using KYB, good things about Bilstein and upgrading to 100lb springs over stock 90lb, I'm thinking of doing mine myself but need to get a spring compressor, sorry to not have expert advice but that is just what I have read so far

I guess I should do both ! 100 lbs spring seems to be a good improvement
Johny Blackstain
welcome.png
The upgrade to 100lb springs is common & as for the shocks I'd go with Bilstein. I prefer them over either Boge & Koni for daily use, but that's just me.
fduval
QUOTE(Johny Blackstain @ Apr 5 2014, 12:31 PM) *

welcome.png
The upgrade to 100lb springs is common & as for the shocks I'd go with Bilstein. I prefer them over either Boge & Koni for daily use, but that's just me.

Thanks for the welcome Johny
mepstein
I did it myself with boge's and 100 springs and dropped by my local mechanic and he compressed the springs for no charge. Took him 2 minutes.
stugray
If you want a really good setup, get a set of adjustable perches, springs and shock from ground control.
Based on your application they will calculate exactly what you need.