Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 1973 4 corner repair build thread
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Jmkorfha
Hi Guys, I've been lurking here since last November and have enjoyed all the threads, especially the build threads. I am a retired Mechanic and shop owner . I got started in 1978 restoring VW Beetles. In 1981 I got a 1973 orange 914 rust bucket with a blown engine and a transmission with no first. I completely overhauled the mechanicals but had sagging issues so I got rid of the car but not the dream.
Last November I bought a 1973 Blue 914 from George that was hit light on all 4 corners.
Coming are some pics of the before and current work as soon as I figure it out.
trojanhorsepower
welcome.png

We always like progress threads here!

And oh yea!

thisthreadisworthlesswithoutpics.gif
Jmkorfha
Here are some starting pics showing the damage.Click to view attachment Click to view attachmentClick to view attachmentClick to view attachment[attachmentid=446
209]Click to view attachmentClick to view attachmentClick to view attachment[attachmentid
=446213]
trojanhorsepower
Wow, that looks like a big job. What is your plan? Might be a good excuse to go with fiberglass quarters.
rick 918-S
welcome.png That's the car you had in Florida. Nice to here it made it up to MN. aktion035.gif

I may have parts for you very soon. I have a rear clip at Irv's house in the metro. (914coop)

I have a right good right fender too. Some of it may repair nicely though.

sawzall-smiley.gif smash.gif
Jmkorfha
The previous pics were in Orlando, Fl. I towed the car to Minnesota about 2 weeks ago and have been working on it in my Austin, MN shop.
I spent a lot of time with the mo clamps pulling and working the metal in order to see what panels will need replacing and what can be salvaged.
Here is the right front straightened and dolleyed:
Click to view attachmentClick to view attachmentClick to view attachment[attachmentid=446
222]