Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Somebody at VW-Porsche should be shot
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Brett W
Damn, wheel bolts. Who the hell would put wheel bolts on a wheel that is not hub-centric? Obviously some brilliant engineer who forgot studs are better than bolts.

I forgot how much fun these cars are.
xsboost90
yeah i never did like them damn bolts..on mercedes or otherwise.
campbellcj
The crazy thing is that several manufacturers STILL use the bolts! I have no idea why; even though the hubs/wheels are of course designed with the appropriate geometry, do they think it's "fun" trying to mount a 35lb wheel+tire one-handed while the other hand -- the weaker/uncoordinated side of course -- attempts to start the lug bolt w/o cross-threading it?

Studs are a good thing...for a track car, they're a necessity IMO
wrpspddrvr
Yes! I get to help!
Back when I was a Distilled Petroleum Distribution Engineer (Pump jocky at a full service gas station), one of my many tasks was mounting and balancing wheels, fixing flats, etc. I always got ticked off about the wheel bolts too, until I discovered a trick. Sit facing the car, stick your legs under the car, rest the tire on your thighs or shins, centered on the hub, and lift into the approximate position with your legs. This leaves both hands free to thread two or three bolts, which'll hold the wheel on while you insert and tighten the rest. Voila!

Cole IPB Image
ejm
The crazy thing is that several manufacturers STILL use the bolts!

Yup...but some of the better ones provide a 4" threaded rod...screw it into the hub and you've got something to hang the wheel on while starting the bolts...shouldn't be too hard to make something similar..
Rhodes71/914
QUOTE (wrpspddrvr @ Jan 15 2005, 08:59 PM)
Yes! I get to help!