Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Can I Get a Head Count for Suby Powered 914's
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
76-914
Stupid request, I know, but it will calm me down for a few minutes anyway. So if you have a Suby powered 914, shout it out. 20-30 maybe 50 existing conversions??? Also, what was your role? Check writer or builder? How much do you have in yours? Regrets, concerns or something you would have done differently?
effutuo101
I am in progress. Also, check writer/builder depending on what is going on.
My only regret so far is the amount of time my build has taken.
Hope to hear it start by end of the year and driving early next year.
total is about 15k with all of the parts/fiberglass/paint/lizardskin/sheetmetal/welding/powdercoating and so forth. I am afraid to total up my receipts as I could have bought a running car as I want mine for cheaper. not the same size motor, but close enough.

CptTripps
I'm a mix of builder and check writer. I know my weaknesses.

I hate to admit it, but I'm about $30k deep right now. THAT crept up on me. $250 here...$500 there....$1,500 a time or two. Happens fast.

If I were to do it over, I'm not sure id change anything. I've done this entire build to the n-th degree. If I have one regret, it's not getting the stinger computer with a pre-wired harness. That would have saved me a few weeks.
IanJ
Work in progress. I've gone with the coldwater cradle, subarugears adaptor kit and renegade radiator so far.
I've almost completed my 5 bolt conversion and went with 930 driveshafts.

Waiting on Ian shipping me a shifter kit.
Also trying to decided what to do for a clutch pedal. I had grand plans to create a hybrid 914 and 964 pedal box but am now thinking of buying a tilton style complete box.

Wiring will be next. Need to investigate the stinger.

I've been trying to do as much work to the car as possible myself but work seems to have been all consuming since I started.
76-914