Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Undercarriage inspection
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
swooshdave
This is my first time under the car (and the first time under a 914 or even a VW) so I could use a little help identifying some things.

IPB Image
There is an unattached cable on the right side.

IPB Image
There is also another unattached cable above the shifter.

IPB Image
The car has an ANSA exhaust. I'm not sure if these two pieces are suppose to meet.

IPB Image
I wonder if this hole should have something attached to it?
Mblizzard
It looks like your heat system is pretty much missing!

Thee cables should connect to heater valves that are opened by the lever just to the rear of the shift lever. If you have heat exchangers you need a number of parts to make the heat work.
bulitt
Air circulates around your exhaust in a heat exchanger.
When heated the air is blown into the two tubes which run inside
your longs. The other ends of the longs have flexible tubes which direct the air up through the dash into the blower plenum. Looks like you are missing
fans, tubes,flapper valves, etc.

Front air system
IPB Image

Rear air system (fans missing from pic)
IPB Image
jacksun
hi,

the following is a snip from pelican parts

"a" is where the heater control wires hook up.........one for each side.

randal

Click to view attachment
76-914
Be sure your car still has the heat exchangers before you start sourcing parts. That would be the big ticket item. Everything else is cheap and easily sourced.
lsintampa
first two pictures are cables that should attach to heat bellows / valves that let heat into those big holes that run into the car cabin (the last picture).

There should be two of those big holes.

Heat exchangers surround your exhaust "pipes" that connect to the valves.

I see your oil cooler so I assume the motor is in.

DO NOT drive this car in this condition. There are many pictures here to show how your exhaust needs to be setup.