Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Undoing POs re-wire. Need a little help
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
doug_b_928
I spent my afternoon undoing a PO's re-wire from at least 30 years ago. The PO had removed the fuses and run wires to the frunk to new fuses. I systematically unsoldered the wires from 1-12. I had the page from 'baldwinpowersports 914 fuses' and was checking operation of everything before and after the retrofit of the original fuses. It went well but 3 items don't work, but did work before:

1. The windshield wipers. My electrical knowledge is next to nil (this is my first time restoring a car; this whole thing is going to be a huge learning experience for me, which is partially why I'm doing it), but this one I basically understand. If you look at the pic of the relocated fuse box below, you'll see that they wrapped a wire around a fuse, had an inline fuse, and the other end goes to a power pin on the box (note that you'll only see 9 fuses in this box. They installed a little homemade piece of plywood with 3 more fuses on the fender, for a total of 12). The fuse the wire is wrapped around has a little "WW" scratched above it, so this is the wiper fuse. So, for some reason, the power for the wipers is coming separately.

Click to view attachment

My question is, how do I replicate this in my return to original? Do I do the same thing on fuse 8? If so, from where should I take the power? Here's a shot of the the back to original fuse box. The black wires below are the ones I disconnected, and labelled so I can reconnect to try to figure things out.

Click to view attachment

The next two I don't understand at all:

2. The dash fan no longer has power. It did work before. When I reconnected the wires for fuse 9 (the one the sheet says controls the fan), it still didn't work. Only thing I can think of is that the wiper thing is also connected to it??