Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Project 914-LT1 Canadian V8 conversion
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
ajracer
Greetings Fellow teeners !

Now that the COLD weather has arrived with - 5 F temperatures and the snow has
just hit Toronto hard, so I thought it would be a good time to post a new thread and
share my excitement with getting started with my V-8 conversion and build-up of the
vehicle. Let’s say I am not new to automotive, but have been in hibernation for over
twenty years. Porsche's are new to me; but German engineering is not since I used
to race formula vee (VW powered) many years ago in Atlantic Canada.

I should also mention that I am not a mechanic or ever received any "formal" training
in mechanics, but I have been around karts, motorcycles, hot rods and race cars for
more years than my 31 yr. old teener. I have build up a few Chevy small blocks and
always had good success, never any problems with good old faithful since they are
a strong and reliable engine made in the US of A, or Canada of course ! I have more
recently spent two years restoring and a complete build up of 1972 Super Beetle for
my beloved daughter. So I have been rehoning my skills in bodywork, welding, painting,
engine building, mechanics, etc. Now after acquiring a very nice Porsche 914 from
Florida that belonged to a deceased family friend, I thought this would be a good time
to bring the teener to my garage and begin this challenging CONVERSION. See for me I
get the Best of Both Worlds with a P-car and a Chevy engine ! What more could a guy
want ?

Anyways I should start my thread discussion and info for others than might be interested.
Like every conversion we all have different ideas of what we want, how
we thing it should be done, what we "think" might need to be replaced, upgraded,
purchased or re done with modern or better materials and or technology ! I will share