Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: The Point of No Return
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
Larmo63
Have you ever got to a place with a car build where you wonder what the heck you were thinking? Building a hot motor & transmission, 911 five lug suspension and Fuchs on a 914, but you still have to do some pretty serious rust repair? And, when one considers the money drain, plus 914s aren't worth all that much apart? Anyone throw in the towel?

Please talk me back off of the ledge.

screwy.gif
naro914
I've been throwing in the towel for 15 years now... and the car keeps getting better and better each time we go back to it!

You are not the first...you will not be the last....and I can surely tell you that NO sane person would EVER spend as much as we have on a 914....I would bet you will never even come close...if I could get 1/10 of what we've spent on Papa Smurf back....

Take a deep breath, forget about the value in $$$...think about the value in smiles!! biggrin.gif That's what keeps us going!!

Yes...we are all a bit nuts....welcome to the club!!
SirAndy
QUOTE(naro914 @ Nov 19 2014, 03:38 PM) *
I've been throwing in the towel for 15 years now...

agree.gif

Same here. Bought my car (barely running) in 2000. Went in for a "slipping clutch" in 2003 which turned into a 3 year restoration.
About half way through that restoration, i was ready to throw in the towel.
The car was completely disassembled and i had no confidence it would ever be together again.

I'm glad i stuck with it, it's been a blast to drive ever since i got it back on the road!
driving.gif
Cairo94507
Heck no.... all of the hard stuff is behind us now (I hope) biggrin.gif
Larmo63
^^I'm feeling better that I'm not alone in my madness…^^^
struckn