Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: ECU/MPS Compatibility for 2056
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
BeatNavy
Getting everything together to install a 2056 into my '72 and swap out the steady, reliable 1.7L I've been running. The 2056 is '73 but came with '74 ECU/MPS combo. The part numbers are 049 on the MPS and 044 on the ECU. Sometimes I'm not sure if I read that ECU/MPS compatibility table on Anders D-Jet site correctly. Is the 049/044 a winning combination?

Also, I've read here that a 2056 really should run with an adjustable MPS. A couple of months ago I converted my 1.7L MPS to adjustable with the Tangerine kit. Any thoughts on whether I could effectively run my MPS (007) just by adjusting it appropriately, or are there other compatibility issues? Or do I need to make that '74 MPS adjustable?

Thanks for the help.
JeffBowlsby
Hey Rob, I'm no DJet expert but I think there are som issues here.

An 049 MPS is a 1.7L MPS. It cannot be recalibrated to the needs of a 2056 engine.

The 044 ECU is the 1974 2.0L ECU and that should work for the 2056.

You need an 043 MPS that is recalibrated for a wider pulse width range than the standard calibration, not the 007 MPS (is that a 1.7L MPS also?) The 1.7L MPS does not have the adjustability range of the 2.0L MPS's because it lacks an internal spacer.

Almost all MPS are adjustable, a few of the earliest MPS for early D-Jet VWs and Benz's are not, but they are not in the 914 dialogue.
BeatNavy
Hi Jeff -- thanks for the reply. Now I see where the 049 is listed as a 1.7L MPS on that site. Yeah, I'm not reading that table correctly.

So I have a 007 and a 049 MPS, neither of which are really compatible with that ECU or 2.0L, right? I should be looking for a 043 MPS.
Bleyseng
As long as:
You have a stock grind cam with your 2056 the 044 ECU is fine.
The 049 can be adjusted to run with the 2056 no problem as it can be reset to the 043 specs.