Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Working with carbon fiber question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
GaroldShaffer
Ok so all the talk about the carbon fiber deck lids has got me thinking about buying a pair, both my stock lids are tweeked. I have never worked with carbon fiber before, and the only stuff I have seen is the kids driving with black CF hoods on their cars. So I assume that CF be worked like fiberglass can? It can be painted and such? Maybe I would paint them, the black might look kinda cool (or ricey, is that a word) on my orange car. idea.gif

Picture back from Aug 03, still looks the same smile.gif
Mueller
if going to paint, there is a killer deal in the classifieds for CF lids...$350 ea

i'm going to attempt leaving mine bare, I'll have to see once on the car how I really like the look...
r_towle
I currently have fiberglass lids and I was thinking.....

Could I put a single layer of CF on top of the fiberglass..provided I sand down the paint to a good solid base....then clear coat that???

I can get CF for alot less money than a whole hood (specially shipping to the east)

And if I mess it up, sand and paint, or try again...

What do you think, would that work???

Rich
URY914
I've worked a lot with f/g and c/f to a lesser degree. As far as a the guy working at home on c/f, there is very little differance that I have found. Now if you want to start making structural c/f and using a autoclave to form parts, big diff.

C/F looks cool when it is left unpainted and polished, but painting over it is no different than f/g. If you make a part and plan to leave it unpainted, you need to realize the cloth needs to be nice and stright and not pieced together.

Paul

GaroldShaffer
QUOTE (Mueller @ Feb 18 2005, 09:55 AM)
if going to paint, there is a killer deal in the classifieds for CF lids...$350 ea

i'm going to attempt leaving mine bare, I'll have to see once on the car how I really like the look...