Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: rear suspension
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
fduval
Hi , I just changed my rear shocks today , put in new sport bilstein witn 140 lbs springs,
my rear end is about 3/4 inch lower on the right side versus the left side, . is there an adjustment screw that I can play with to get proper level on both sides ?

I am new to 914`s !!!!!!!!!!!!!! thanks
mepstein
have you driven the car yet? Driving it will settle the shocks. After that, I got nothing.

welcome.png
fduval
QUOTE(mepstein @ May 17 2015, 05:27 PM) *

have you driven the car yet? Driving it will settle the shocks. After that, I got nothing.

no, not driven yet . I will try that thks
bulitt
Sounds like the spring is not seated in the perch.
fduval
QUOTE(bulitt @ May 17 2015, 06:23 PM) *

Sounds like the spring is not seated in the perch.

I will have to verify that thanks
toon1
IIRC, bilsteins have adjustable perch locations, maybe they're different.
Dave_Darling
At least some of the Bilstein shocks have a circlip around the shock body that the lower spring perch rides on. If the spring is in the perch, double-check the position of the circlip. You may need to slide the lower perch upward to see the clip.

--DD
mepstein
Driving it will make a difference. Also, might measure out differently with some weight in the driver seat.
fduval
QUOTE(mepstein @ May 17 2015, 07:26 PM) *

Driving it will make a difference. Also, might measure out differently with some weight in the driver seat.

went for a short drive, the diff now is 1/4 inch side to side . I guess its acceptable. Thanks for all the inputs .
mepstein
QUOTE(fduval @ May 19 2015, 08:07 AM) *

went for a short drive, the diff now is 1/4 inch side to side . I guess its acceptable. Thanks for all the inputs .

as he shocks continue to settle in it will probbable end up very close. driving.gif
DRPHIL914
QUOTE(mepstein @ May 19 2015, 08:11 AM) *