Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: WTB: Door lock wafer springs
914World.com > The 914 Forums > Classified Forums > FS/WTB: 914 Parts
BillC
This weekend, I decided to try to fix the locks on my door handles. According to the previous owner, they haven't worked (to lock or unlock the doors) since before he bought the car. Thanks to this forum, I was able to remove the outer door handles and disassemble the locks. They were filthy inside and totally jammed up. Unfortunately, some of the springs that move the lock wafers were destroyed in the process.

Can anyone please point me toward a good source for buying replacement springs, and maybe a couple of wafers, too (at least one should really be replaced)? Thanks!
Cj Honeycutt
This guy is Mr. Locks. He knows 914's and can help you with your locks or sell you what you need to do it yourself.

I am a Newbie, so don't know if this is against some rule suggesting an ebay seller. If so, give me a break for being new. Just tying trying to help. I have no affiliation with this seller. Have sent several emails and am very happy with the responses:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/261621280460?_trks...K%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
euro911
I think that's Dan, tweet on this forum. Send him a PM ...
TheCabinetmaker
Bill, I can send you a couple of springs. The wafers are a different story. There are seven different wafers and over 100,000 combinations of which slot they fit in. Replacement of one wafer must use the same wafer. A measurement must be taken with a dial caliper. Pm me and we can go over how to measure or you can send me your lock and key and I'll make it like new.
forrestkhaag
Mark is correct - tweet is the quintessential 914 lock guy/and gal. In my reso-infancy, I had them rework all of my locks and all of them work with master key and valet key as from the factory - precision and good communication was the norm with tweet tweets.