Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Black painted trim areas...
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
naro914
Hi all
so...I am officially the PCA 914 Registry Advocate - supposedly meaning that I'm an expert in 914's...but really meaning that I was the one crazy enough to volunteer and take the job! That said, I am now the person that gets all the 914 questions that go to the PCA National office, or from people who find me on the PCA website...

As most of you know, I am FAR from an expert in 914's...especially when it comes to stock or originality. Though it has been said that our 914's are very close to stock blink.gif , I am not much of authenticity/historian type of person...

So, I am asking the 914World brain trust (and directing most people that ask me questions to ask here too)....is there a specific color code or paint that should be used for restoring the black painted bumpers, engine deck lid grating and rocker panels? I had a gentleman ask me that, and I have no idea.... He's doing a full restoration and would like to get it right.

Thoughts? Opinions? actual knowledge??

Thank you!!
mepstein
Talk to scotty b. He really knows the details. Not just internet lore and hearsay.
Steve Snyder
I believe black trim was originally a semi-gloss (30%) black. It only looks flat or matte now due to 40+ years of weathering. biggrin.gif
Kansas 914
QUOTE(naro914 @ Aug 20 2015, 06:32 AM) *

So, I am asking the 914World brain trust (and directing most people that ask me questions to ask here too)....is there a specific color code or paint that should be used for restoring the black painted bumpers, engine deck lid grating and rocker panels? I had a gentleman ask me that, and I have no idea.... He's doing a full restoration and would like to get it right.