Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Thermostat/Flaps
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
martinef1963
I have a question and would like a "wide" view point from this forum on Thermostat/Flaps on a 914

Mine are missing - and I've rcvd one comment saying that they are NOT really necessary.

Can I get some inputs on this topic - while doing some work on my car (I'm a newbie) yesterday - I noticed that the thermostat, thermostat housing, and thermostat cable are missing - only have the pulley.

In addition - where the EFFIN are these flaps? Cause if they are not needed and they are in place - they could be a problem, right?

thanks confused24.gif
Type 4
You must have the flap over the oil cooler.
Type 4
Here is a the bits.
Bleyseng
I vote yes, you need the flaps. They help the engine to warm up faster which is a important thing. A engine has the most wear when its is cold and slowly warming up so you want it to reach operating temp as soon as possible. Doesn't matter if you are in AZ or WI. Also the flaps direct the air to and around the oil cooler.

Geoff
ejm
In addition - where the EFFIN are these flaps?

They are at the top of the fan housing where it joins the engine sheetmetal. If they are still there you should be able to see the metal rod that connects the flaps. The cable connects to a bracket on this rod, which is spring loaded and defaults to the engine warm position. I agree, you need the flaps.
Reiche
In Miami, you may be able to get away with not using the thermostat, but I would run one. As Type 4 noted, you still need the flap over the oil cooler (#7 in picture.) Whoever told you they aren't necessary honestly doesn't know how they function. If they are in there and the thermostat isn't hooked up, it is not likely they are a problem. They were designed to be fail-safe. IOW, they retract to full-cooling position (read below.)