Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: air brush or small paint gun for small parts?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
anthony
I've been painting the bumpers on my girlfriend's Toyota truck and it's been driving me insane*. I found some nice satin laquer at Orchard (much much cheaper than the wurth stuff) and it looks good but the rattle can keeps spitting out large droplets periodically ruining the finish.

I was thinking of either buying an airbrush or a small detail paint gun. How about something like this:

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/Disp...f?itemnumber=86

or something like this:

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/Disp...temnumber=47791

I've never used an airbrush before. Is it big enough for painting something the size of a bumper or say engine tin or wheels?

My other criteria would be something I could use in the garage without making a huge mess and getting paint on everything else.

*Painting the bumpers on the Toyota is a long story. I was just going to install them but when I took the bumper out of the box it was a medium grey. The valence I got for the car is satin black. If they had both been the same color I would have just installed them as is. I hate working on other people's cars. :-)
72Signal914
Airbrushing isn't all that hard for what you are talking about. It's going to take a while to do with some of those because of the small nozzle. you'll get a more even spray with the airbrush but it will take longer. Also, with the paint brush I thought you need a compressor to actually push the paint out, there might be other alternatives to that (i.e spare tire). Check into it or see how much it is for a air brush that they use for cars but like half the size, if they sell it that might be your best bet.
MarkV
Air brush won't work for bumpers or wheels, too small of a spray pattern.

The first gun you listed will work, you will get better results out of a HVLP gun though.