Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Fuel Pump Location - Carb Engine
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
North Coast Jim
Looking for any information about location of the fuel pump for a carb converted 914. Under the gas tank I assume since a low pressure pump needs good head pressure to operate correctly. With that said is there a preferred pump to use. What tubing/hose is everyone using for transiting the tunnel. Braided or a thick walled high pressure rubber fuel line. I've looked for threads within the site but didn't find any although I'm still learning the site. Any help is appreciated
LowBridge
I have stainless steel line and this pump located in the same place as the original fuel pump below the tank.

Facet fuel pump
SirAndy
Do yourself a favor and get a rotary pump. The facet pumps are noisy as hell.

I used this one on my 2056:
http://www.cbperformance.com/ProductDetail...roductCode=3193

IPB Image

Also, there is no real need to relocate it, you can run it in the stock location using the stock wires:
http://www.914world.com/specs/SirAndyCarbFuelPumpRelay.php

As for the fuel lines, i'm running the CFR stainless lines through the tunnel. They're a good upgrade over the stock plastic lines.
I would also advise to leave the return line connected, it will help keeping your fuel cooler.

bye1.gif
jmill
Rotary pump is internally regulated and pumps way more volume than the clicky pump. Also it's better to have the pump close to the tank so the lines are under pressure, not vacuum. With SS lines it's not a big deal but with flex lines they could suck closed and reduce volume.
somd914
Concur with Sir Andy and jmill. I run this pump and have it located under the fuel tank.
screenguy914
I've used an Airtex E8016S fuel pump (2.5-4 psi) in my 911 for over 20 years. Never missed a beat. Available most anywhere ($15-$51). Price disparity seems to be the result of licensing manufacture to other sources.