Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: A discussion about safe chassis repairs, welding, fitting and finishing
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
rick 918-S
I try to check the resto threads and titles that have to do with chassis repairs and welding. I have been playing at and learning about auto repair, auto body and welding since the age of 12. I am self taught and learned enough in my youth by watching others and practicing what I learned to eventually open a collision/resto shop. In my hay day I had 6 full time guys, a computerized office, a Celette in the shop and all the headaches that go with it for 18 years.

I have been out of the industry now for 20+ years. But over that time I have still worked to hone my skills. I'm not posting all this to boast. I just want you to know when you read the following where I gained my knowledge and why I suggest this method of repair.

I have read many threads and see the same questions asked as guys learn how to go about repairing the projects they start. I have seen some threads started and questions asked after things went too far south that recovery was not possible. I hope to help some of you from making that error.

I have to say I see the most inventive and industrious guy on this forum. Lots of knowledge here. I've see cars repaired that other non 914 guys would have scrapped. Nice repairs too.

Here is where I wanted to start. The right rail and jack post. The easiest and hardest part of the chassis to repair. Here is a link to a repair I did on a factory 6 I did for Ben.

http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?sho...26585&st=60

I wanted to expand a little more on why I did what I did.