Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 4 barrel carb on rotary 13b (Holley?)
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
matthepcat
I am a complete noob when it comes to Mazda rotary engines. Having just purchased a 13b conversion car, I am lucky enough to have found this one which runs excellent.

I am 95% sure that this car is running a Holley, but there are no distinguishing markings anywhere on the carburetor.

Here are a few pictures:

Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment

Is this enough for someone out there to say, "yep that's a Holley"?

The only strange characteristic of this carburetor is when I aggressively accelerate up to the 9k RPM range, it will sometimes sputter as I let off the gas like it runs out of fuel. I am assuming that this is a problem with the fuel pump being able to provide enough fuel pressure to flow at that RPM.

Reading online I see that most of the racing/high performance rotary guys run a fuel surge tank. Could this help cure this issue, or would a slightly higher performance pump with a good fuel pressure regulator cure the fuel starvation problem?

I currently run a Carter fuel pump that is probably old.
ssuperflyoldguy

I'm thinking that is part of a fuel injection system....
matthepcat
Not sure how that would be possible?

QUOTE(ssuperflyoldguy @ May 16 2016, 01:29 PM) *

I'm thinking that is part of a fuel injection system....

Mike Bellis
It's definitely special for the rotary. I would run a high flow pump with a return regulator to keep the pressure low enough for the carb.

Wait, I would replace that with a 48 IDA single down draft carb and manifold.

I don't think you can go out and buy a new double pumper and get it to work correctly. I will say there is quite a bit of polishing in that top hat.

Parts are impossible to come by at your FLAPS. You will need to mail order most of your parts. I used to get a lot from Atkins Rotary. http://atkinsrotary.com/store/
Mike Bellis
biggrin.gif