Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Grinds in gear
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
catsltd
The car shifted great until now.

I took car out for a drive,and before I left the garage I noticed lots of vibration.
Felt like all kinds of things were letting loose.

Seemed like it corrected it self,till I came to a light.
Car would not shift into first without a complete grind,same for reverse.
Car started to make lots of vibration again,felt like the whole car was going to shake apart.

Got the car home by driving in 2nd gear.
Question is my clutch gone,sure seems like it,but I am a rookie and need some help.

Clutch goes to the floor and as I release it,it does Not engage until its all the way released.
Help.
r_towle
Probably.

Get underneath look up into the bell housing using the little hole in the bottom.
If the clutch had a failure, you will see what looks like a rats nest of clutch material.

Rich
toolguy
sounds like the clutch disc facing material may have broken off a piece and the clutch is dragging. .
catsltd
QUOTE(toolguy @ May 24 2016, 08:43 PM) *

sounds like the clutch disc facing material may have broken off a piece and the clutch is dragging. .

100.000 miles.
I think both you guys are right.Sure feels like its toast.

My concern is 650 dollars for clutch replacement kits,is not in my budget,any suggestions.Got a feeling Im in for a big job.

But its been 1 day since I fixed my oil leaks,timing,and valve adjustment so I guess I should have know it would not last.Seems 1 day driving,I week work.
Anyway Appreciate the suggestions.
BeemerSteve
May I suggest looking for a complete kit minus the flywheel unless that is toast on ebay. I found mine there and through a post here confirmed pulling the transmission out only and supporting the engine is the way to go. I paid $286.00 for the throw out bearing, pressure plate and clutch disc then down the road motors you'll go!
r_towle
Just buy the clutch disk if you are short on funds.