Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Original Wheels 1974
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
simonjb
Hi

I am new to the 914 (but not new to Porsche with a 1997 9934S and a 1993 RS America). I need some help from the experts here on the original wheels that would have been on a 1974 914 2.0 manufactured in 9/73 with the appearance package. Is this the correct wheels?

If So, what is the name of this wheel?

Thanks for any help!!!Click to view attachment
iwanta914-6
Yes, Fuchs. The 4 bolt little brother of the 5 bolt Fuchs commonly seen on older 911s
Tom_T
Yes Simon,

Those would've been the Appearance/Performance Groups' wheel - it's loosely called the Fuchs 2-Liter for that reason, forged aluminum alloy with an anodized finish & matte finish on the background area behind the smooth/shiny "petals"/"blades" & rim.

For the 74 MY they were available under either the option groups or as a stand alone option on any 914/2.0 or 1.8, & they were a generally included option on all 73 MY 2.0s during the first 8+/- months when they 2.0Ls were fully loaded for the US market & marketed here as the "914-S" ( http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?showtopic=107851 ), then still included on most of the later 73 MY "decontented" 2.0's - as well as an option on the 1.7s (though not often ordered/found that way on 1.7s from the factory).

There is great originality info in the Originality & History Forum, & it has some nailed topics, including "Wheels & Tries" & "The Few, the Rare..." which you should look through for info on originality.

beerchug.gif
Tom
///////
JeffBowlsby
Uh-No.

The Appearance Group in 1974 did not include the Fuchs, the car would have come with the sport steel wheels with plastic centers, new for 1974.

Fuchs or any other wheel would have been an extra cost line line item in 1974 or installed at the dealership at extra cost. See the attached window sticker and BOS of a current car in my collection to see what they did.