Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: auto transport - need to ship a 914
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
seanpaulmc
Do you have any recommendations (good or bad) for cross country auto transport.

While over Thanksgiving holiday at my in-laws I picked up a '73 914. It runs but it needs too much work to drive it from Philadelphia to Orlando. I've never shipped a car before and what I've gathered is that these brokers (middlemen) hire the truckers, you pay a fee to the broker (deposit), and then hope the trucker is reputable. When the car arrives you then pay the trucker (in cash) yet the broker has no responsibility or liability. Any issues with the transport of the car have to be delt directly with the trucker. What could possibly go wrong?

I'm a newbie. This is my first 914 and I'm looking forward to getting it. That said, any advice on where to start with making it road worthy?
914forme
welcome.png

Not knowing the car it is hard to say:

This is my normal routine when I acquire a new used car.

Brakes - change fluid check operations. Most of the time I replace pads, hardware, and rotors. I change the fluid even if it looks brand new.

Suspension, I give everything a good going over. Depending on milage I will more than likely change the suspension bushings out. Shocks would also be on my list.

I trans I would go through, change the gear oil. Open up the fill plug first, as no sense on going on and drawing the fluid if you can't get the fill plug open.

while your down there check the clutch cable, any signs of wear replace it.

Engine normal stuff.
Plugs, wires, cap, rotor, confessor, air cleaner, change the oil. I would also check valve clearances and adjust them.

Fuel system, drain it, or dilute whats in there in a large amount of gas. Unless you know the age of the fuel. Replace the fuel filter.

Check over the tires well.

Then drive the thing noting items that need replaced and checked.