Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: rust on prospective purchase
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Will Hesch
Hi, I'm a newbie but a knowledgeable car nut. I'm looking at a '73 2.0 in the Great Lakes area. The seller claims it's "rust free" but the battery tray is very rusty and the pan/underside shows rust as well.

In particular, there are two areas on either side of the trans/motor mount that concerns me, I've circled the two (apparent?) holes in the second photo. I don't know if those are factory or rust installed, maybe you guys could help me?

Thank you in advance!

Will in California 805-550-7865
Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment
boxsterfan
Need to get a look behind the ECU there in the engine bay to see the hell hole aea under the battery tray. Also, #1 thing to see is underneath the rocker panels on both sides. Need to take the rocker panels off to see them in their full glory (or not so glory).

jmitro
those holes are stamped as part of the factory lift points, so no problem

Battery tray is relatively clean, not too bad really.

The car looks pretty good in the two photos that you have shown.
Will Hesch
QUOTE(jmitro @ Dec 12 2016, 03:15 PM) *

those holes are stamped as part of the factory lift points, so no problem

Battery tray is relatively clean, not too bad really.

The car looks pretty good in the two photos that you have shown.

Jmitro, thanks, I agree that in comparison to many 914 battery trays, this one's not completely toast but it's a far cry from "rust free" as advertised.

Boxter, I'm in Cali so I can't pull the rocker covers. I'm waiting on photos of the Hell-hole, told the seller he needs to pull the hoses out of the way so I can see it.

From the top-side, the car looks immaculate but it's a long trip from California and I really don't want surprises.

Will
Ferg