Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Clutch/flywheel Gurus
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Joseph Mills
The flywheel pictured below has 5k miles on it along with a new pressure plate, clutch disc, throw out bearing, etc.

Clutch slips under full immediate throttle from a healthy four.

What are all the "spots" an indication of?
bondo
It looks like grease or oil got on there, (radial streaks) and contaminated your clutch. Probably the source of the slipping and the spots. (but I'm no expert)
Allan
agree.gif Looks like grease or oil coming from under the flywheel bolts.
TimT
To much grease in the pilot bearing.

from the amount of grease on the mating surface.. I cant believe your clutch slipped from grease though....

something else is going on..
Joseph Mills
I guess that the "radial" streaks are from the grease I applied to the throwout bearing and grease I inserted into the output shaft bearing in the flywheel?

I don't see how they relate to all the "spots".

The spots are burned into the new flywheel. This being the first time I have ever done this, I have NO idea what they are. confused24.gif

And, possibly, more important, what does it mean? unsure.gif
davep
The spots look like burn marks. Possibly burnt grease. Did you have the felt seal on top of the bearing?

Was the flywheel resurfaced? Was it resurfaced properly? The height of the mounting surface for the PP from the friction surface is critical. Is the friction disc the correct thickness? Is the PP fully engaging?
Joseph Mills
Brand spankin' new flywheel.

New disc, pressures plate, etc.

This was done at the same time a top end rebuild was done. I seem to remember the felt seal was properly placed.

So these are "burn" marks?
Joseph Mills
Actually, I guess I mis-spoke again. biggrin.gif

WHY is my clutch slipping?
J P Stein