Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: autocross and a hot day
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
worn
We are having unseasonably hot weather here. Doug and I headed for the autocross yesterday and while the oil temp and head temps were within reason, that engine bay was too hot to touch. And then no spark. Has happened before. I think the failure point was the photodetector for the Crane Fireball ignition module.

I have had enough. It is either points or something electronic I can trust. I generally carry a spare dizzy, but it was at home yesterday...

So - can anyone point me to the most reliable system? I am not wild about changing points, so I would prefer something electronic.

Thanks again Brain Trust!
Porschef
Hey Warren,

Lots of different opinions regarding Pertronix, but I've been running a unit for about 4 years with no issues.

Joe
cary
Been on my car 13-14 years
JeffBowlsby
20 years of running points, 10 of those as a daily driver, never let me down.
worn
QUOTE(Jeff Bowlsby @ Jun 13 2017, 05:52 AM) *

20 years of running points, 10 of those as a daily driver, never let me down.

Yeah - I know. But you be a stickler for the wiring. Thinking of pertronix backed up with a gapped distributor and points in the trunk. Turned out to be useful last year at Rt 66.
ConeDodger
Points. Done right, the most reliable analog system.
mskala
I think the failure point was the photodetector for the Crane Fireball ignition module.

I use the Crane LED/Detector, though I don't use the Crane box. The part that's in
the distributor is literally only and LED and a photodiode and a plastic holder. I've
had this one for at least 5 years with no issues. Before that on my other engine, I
had made one with a random old radio shack LED and photodiode which gave no
trouble for 10 years.

I would think if there's a problem related to the trigger it's either a wiring fail or the
box that drives the LED and receives the signal.

worn