Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Front fender to Cowl Joint
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
DennisO
Hi All,

I'm new to the 914 world. I've played with 356s and 911s for years, but never had a 914. I've always liked the 914, as friends had them when I was in high school. I recently bought a '75 1.7L project (Nepal Orange) that has been sitting in Central Calif since 2002. Overall, it does appear to be in decent shape for a car this old. It will require a complete restoration and my plans are turn to turn into a nice driver. I just started to disassemble the car and I am finding some rust but a vast majority of what I finding appears to be just surface rust. Hopefully as I complete the disassembly and engine removal I won't find any nasty surprises. The only accident damage I've found is the front corner of the driver's finder has been replaced. The rest of the car looks extremely straight.

As I removed the front hood, I noticed that both front fenders have cracks in the seam where it meets the cowl. Attached are pictures of the area that I'm concerned about. Are these normal for a 914 or is this a sign of accident damage? Thanks in advance.

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment
cary
You've removed the entire front trunk seal and thats the only issue you see ?
ConeDodger
If it's a '75, it would be a 1.8 or 2.0. Not finding rust is rare indeed.

Get to know 914Rubber.Com. You'll need their help. Good luck with the project!
ConeDodger
QUOTE(cary @ Aug 5 2017, 12:43 AM) *

You've removed the entire front trunk seal and thats the only issue you see ?

I know right? Luck had to find one of us!
DennisO
I found that the front corner of the driver fenders has been replaced. I did find some minor rust spots that will need to be repaired. Otherwise, Nothing else yet.

I take it these are not normal for a 914?
DennisO
yes, it's a 1.8L. I can't type.
dgraves
QUOTE(DennisO @ Aug 4 2017, 09:48 PM) *

yes, it's a 1.8L. I can't type.