Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Spal Fans
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
flmont
is there a way to test Spal fans for there direction,wether they pull or push,.?? Click to view attachment
old dog
QUOTE(flmont @ Sep 10 2017, 06:10 PM) *
is there a way to test Spal fans for there direction,wether they pull or push,.??

Connect it up ! Looking at the picture, that one will pull if spun clockwise. SPAL has a pretty good website if you can pull a number off of the fan.
gereed75
In general, you want it to pull. Just did one and from memory the wires are color coded for + red and - black.

Also, I am not a motor expert, but I believe these brushed DC motors will spin either way, depending on the applied polarity. Motor experts are welcome to set us straight on that one.
McMark
They will spin either way, but SPAL specifies a direction, and I respect their brand enough to trust them. So I say find out which way it goes by the part number, and if it's not what you need get a different one.
IronHillRestorations
They make pushers and pullers, so you need the correct one. I'll opine that the fan blades are made to work best when used in the correct orientation.
gereed75
Yea you are right Mark. The motor may operate in either direction but the blades are optimized for their designed direction of rotation. The fans come in either push or pull versions for the same motor.

Oops, beat meet to it Perry
flmont
Do U think the picture of the fan I have is a puller type fan..?? Thanks..Frank
76-914
Puller. Note the blades distance from one side as opposed to the other?
flmont
ah cool,..I have 2 more just like it..!!
jd74914
QUOTE(76-914 @ Sep 11 2017, 04:01 PM) *