Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Trouble shooting injectors
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
LanceW3544
First of all forgive my lack of knowledge. I am not new to cars but I am new to 914s. I recently purchased a 1970 914 1.7L. with D. Jet. The previous owner noted that it ran last year but was not able to get running this year. The car is far from perfect but I hope to be a solid start for a EJ20 swap in the next year or so. I would love to get the 1.7 fired up to start taking care of of other issues I am not currently aware of.
So let me start discribing what I am seeing

Good Battery- Cranks over good and for a long time if needed
Fuel Pump- working well but does not shut off after 1-2 seconds.
New plugs
New wires
New cap and rotor
I check the fuel rail and I know I have fuel to the injectors.
I am able to fire the car up with starter fluid but ofcourse dies when it is burned off.
I have had it runnig several times but is not consistant.
I have check the grounds to the batter as well as the injector grounds. I don't know where to go next.

Any advice would be appreciated. As you explain your suggestion please don't use abbrevations as I am not framilar with them all yet.

Thanks
-lance
mepstein
I send all our injectors to mr injector. Even if they work, he flow tests before and after cleaning and replaces the seals and hose. $17 each + 6 shipping. Then at least you know you are getting an even amount of fuel to each cylinder. If he can’t get an injector to flow correctly, there’s no charge. I sent him at least 150 injectors in the past couple years.
Tbrown4x4
What is your fuel pressure? Stock pump?

Check the lower set of points in the distributor. They provide a signal to the ECU (computer) to fire the injectors.
Porschef
Really? Grand Rapids?

Hmmmm, idea.gif there might be a guy, uh, nearby, that knows a bit about 914's...

You might wanna start there...

Good luck.
Bartlett 914
plugged injectors or bad gas.
worn