Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Backwards idle RPM
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Jamie
....reaching running temp the idle varies between 1400~1500 RPM. That's backwards from what it should be? I have replaced several hoses, checked all areas I could with spritzes of carb cleaner without any effect, so what other components regulate RPM at temperature? I'm no mechanic with the finer details of the D-jet system on my 1.7L motor.
914sgofast2
The AAR (auxiliary air regulator) is probably stuck in the open position. Needs to be cleaned by soaking in carb cleaner or replaced if the heating element has gone bad and no longer closes the valve.
Jamie
QUOTE(914sgofast2 @ Sep 19 2018, 08:27 AM) *

The AAR (auxiliary air regulator) is probably stuck in the open position. Needs to be cleaned by soaking in carb cleaner or replaced if the heating element has gone bad and no longer closes the valve.

Now I'll just have to discover where the AAR is located and what it looks like! confused24.gif
era vulgaris
QUOTE(Jamie @ Sep 19 2018, 10:24 PM) *

Now I'll just have to discover where the AAR is located and what it looks like! confused24.gif

This is it. It'll be on the driver's side on top of the engine, just in front of the intake runners.

Remove it from the car. Soak in carb cleaner, WD40, etc overnight. If you have a bench DC power supply, you can test it by putting 12VDC on the wire lead and ground on the body of the AAR. With power applied, it will heat up and slowly close until you can't blow air through it.
ndfrigi