Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Gas pedal linkage keeps popping off
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Tdskip
Good morning, happy Friday.

I would like to drive the red "turbo" car to see the Orange County mafia at Crystal Cove tomorrow but my gas pedal keeps popping off.

More specifically, it's the cup on the accelerator rod that attaches to the ball in the linkage on the floor that keeps popping off. I am not seeing any means of adjusting that fit so it doesn't pop off, but I'm still a newbie here and was hoping that you guys would be able to offer ideas and things to check.

I may have a spare rod that I can try, but any ideas on how to resolve this and or common issues?

This is a 911 diagram, but it is a very similar set up. It's number six that keeps popping off

Click to view attachment
Tdskip
Pulled the linkage off the car and when I compare it to a spare that I have it looks like the cup has worn on the one on the left ( which is the one that's been popping off). The one on the right, with black tape on it, is a spare. Click to view attachment
theer
Hard to tell in the pictures, but it looks as if the round retainer spring is missing... #6A in the parts diagram.
Tdskip
QUOTE(theer @ Oct 5 2018, 09:10 AM) *

Hard to tell in the pictures, but it looks as if the round retainer spring is missing... #6A in the parts diagram.

Good morning, my car did/does not have the spring.

What should be there, are they all the same?
Tdskip
This.
bdstone914
QUOTE(Tdskip @ Oct 5 2018, 07:15 AM) *

This.

No that one pictured only fits on G50 pedal set rods that have a hole drilled thru for it. It is a round circular clip.
I can send you a new end. If you are coming to Oscars Sunday I can brng one.
Bruce
dr914@autoatlanta.com