Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: What is this switch?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Bulldozer27
Apologies if covered many times before, but I did a search using multiple terms and got zip.

My question pertains to the knob 2nd from the left, just next to the headlight switch. What accessory is it for? I'm new to 914s and my car came with no manuals, accessories, or documentation, so please excuse my ignorance.

In my case, it doesn't appear to control anything, but when the headlights are turned on, the center lights up orange.

IPB Image
RickS
Fog light switch. Should have a rubber surround with green face with a lamp face.
Larmo63
That is an early 911 switch.

I think it was a replacement for the stock 914 foglight switch.
JawjaPorsche
The switch probably works but your fog light bulbs probably need to be replaced. They only work when your headlights are on.
rgalla9146
That switch/knob is desirable in the early 911 world but the yellow 'jewel' that is illuminated when on is missing.
DickSteinkamp
Should look like this...

IPB Image

To test your fog lights, make sure your key is "on" and your headlights are on and up and on low beam.
Tom_T
QUOTE(DickSteinkamp @ Dec 18 2018, 08:06 AM) *

Should look like this...

IPB Image

To test your fog lights, make sure your key is "on" and your headlights are on and up and on low beam.

"Dozer" doesn't have his MY listed nor a in the VIN - so I'll just offer this clarification that the green bezel foglight switch was for 70-73 MY 914s, & the Amber bezel one was for 74-76 MYs.

The Amber type looks similar, but their OEM Hella changed the color for whatever reason.

Pick the color per your MY Dozer, & they're all around FS on here & 914club.com, evilbay, TheSamba.com, Pelican, CL, etc., as well as from Bruce Stone/bdstone & Curt/cabinetmaker & other members here - in both flavors - in quality ranging from NOS to driver or less, & priced accordingly.