Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Valve adjustment
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
John90290
Adjusting the valves on my 1975 1.8 that I just put new pistons in. I’m going through the process as outlined on a few manuals but for some reason it doesn’t feel right? I’ve never done this before so the manuals I have don’t really have good pictures and the videos and such just say go to tdc and adjust. I get to the tdc mark but feel I need to turn it a bit more to get the valves on the number one to fully close. Also when I move on the the other cyclyndsrs after moving the crank 180 degrees, the ones I previously adjusted seem loose. Not sure if thes makes sense. I don’t want to get it back in the car and have it not run.

I’ve seen valve adjustment discussions on this forum before but couldn’t find them doing the search.
914Sixer
Check to see if you have the CORRECT fan housing. 1.7 and 2.0 timing marks are different than 1.8. 1.8 is 7.5 degrees BTDC(Before Top Dead Center) @ 800-900 rpm.
Rand
The epic Krusty method is in the classics forum
aharder
here's the Krusty method
http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?sho...djusting+Valves
Mark Henry
You could use chopsticks to find TDC biggrin.gif

bandjoey
QUOTE(Mark Henry @ Dec 24 2018, 03:32 PM) *

hE'S jOKING. dON'T UNLESS YOU WANT TO TAKE THE MOTOR OUT TO GET THE BROKEN CHOPSTTICK OUT. biggrin.gif

Krusty is the right way. Read it about 6x and it'll make sense and easy to do.
TravisNeff
Get the engine on TDC, on cyl number one both intake and exhaust valves should be slack. If they are not, spin the engine once more until it is on TDC again. Re-check, they should be slack and then check and adjust.
iankarr
You sure you have solid lifters? Hydraulic ones don’t get tight the way solid ones do. If you pull back on the rocker and it feels springy....
Mark Henry
QUOTE(bandjoey @ Dec 24 2018, 05:30 PM) *

QUOTE(Mark Henry @ Dec 24 2018, 03:32 PM) *