Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Wooden pedal board
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
tmc914
I'm new to Porsche and have only been reading about them since I bought the 914 about a year ago. While tracing a brake pressure warning wire I have fallen into the rabbit hole and found a wooden pedal plate. Seems like it should be made of metal. Is wood okay here?
Click to view attachment
Spoke
The pedal board is not metal. I think it may be wood or some type of wood-like material.
rgalla9146
On the drivers side it is thin (5/16" ? ) plywood painted black.
It would have an adjustable throttle stop mounted to the right and an adjustable
clutch pedal stop to the left.
Your picture shows a homemade item.
bdstone914
QUOTE(rgalla9146 @ Apr 21 2019, 05:50 PM) *

On the drivers side it is thin (5/16" ? ) plywood painted black.
It would have an adjustable throttle stop mounted to the right and an adjustable
clutch pedal stop to the left.
Your picture shows a homemade item.

Early up to 73 the pedal boards were plywood. Later were a thick fiberboard. Both did not hold up well.
They are important for the clutch and accelerator stops
914rubber.com has marine grade plywood ones.
RenoRoger
QUOTE(tmc914 @ Apr 21 2019, 05:30 PM) *

I'm new to Porsche and have only been reading about them since I bought the 914 about a year ago. While tracing a brake pressure warning wire I have fallen into the rabbit hole and found a wooden pedal plate. Seems like it should be made of metal. Is wood okay here?

Mine was a kind of composition board. It was falling apart. I took it to local sheet metal shop. Using the old one as a template they cut me one out of sturdy aluminum. Works really well.
horizontally-opposed
Interesting to hear of the degradation experienced by others. The original wood board in my early '73 seems to be in great shape every time I take it out. My pedal cluster is a mess by comparison, and is in need of a rebuild.