Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Used Compu-Fire or Used Pertronix?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jcd914
I have 3 used pointless ignition modules that came with one of my parts cars or project.
First 2 are Compu-Fire units, one loose in a box of other stuff and one in the distributor on an engine.
3rd is a Pertronix unit that was loose in a box of other stuff.

I don't actually know if any of them work but the engine that one of them is in was supposedly running on mega-squire before it was pulled from the car.
I am looking to put one of these into my 2.0l D-jet engine which is running solid core copper plug wires.

I have no recent experience with pointless ignition in a 914 but there are no points in my engine now and I need something and I have these.

Thoughts?

Thanks
Jim

worn
QUOTE(jcd914 @ Apr 24 2019, 03:02 PM) *

I have 3 used pointless ignition modules that came with one of my parts cars or project.
First 2 are Compu-Fire units, one loose in a box of other stuff and one in the distributor on an engine.
3rd is a Pertronix unit that was loose in a box of other stuff.

I don't actually know if any of them work but the engine that one of them is in was supposedly running on mega-squire before it was pulled from the car.
I am looking to put one of these into my 2.0l D-jet engine which is running solid core copper plug wires.

I have no recent experience with pointless ignition in a 914 but there are no points in my engine now and I need something and I have these.

Thoughts?

Thanks
Jim

I suppose it will come down to personal preference along with how many of the three actually work. I have a pertronix unit in my TR6 and trust it, but that is a considerably cooler environment hanging on the side of a water cooled block than sitting on top of air and oil cooled 914. I think that I killed one by reverse polarity, so watch out for that.
IronHillRestorations