Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Best Piston Ring Compressor Tool
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
motorvated
Any recommendations for a good piston ring compression tool that I can use on my 2.0 and 1.8 liter Type IV motors? I've had a couple of them and neither has worked very well on other applications, and the one I now have is giving me problems getting the pistons back into the cylinders with the new rings in place on the 2.0 liter motor.
iankarr
They all work pretty much the same. The trick is using enough oil/lube, and the speed with which you push the piston in. I’m no engine expert, but I’ve had good luck using the handle end of a mallet to push the piston down till the skirt is in the cylinder and the bottom ring is just above the lip, then give the top of the mallet a good rap with a BFH. You have to have enough speed for the ring to “jump” in.
Superhawk996
Are you yanking my chain? We just had this discussion this morning. laugh.gif

http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?sho...40434&st=40

See post #43
Mark Henry
QUOTE(motorvated @ Dec 19 2019, 01:22 PM) *

Any recommendations for a good piston ring compression tool that I can use on my 2.0 and 1.8 liter Type IV motors? I've had a couple of them and neither has worked very well on other applications, and the one I now have is giving me problems getting the pistons back into the cylinders with the new rings in place on the 2.0 liter motor.

If it's used pistons you have to make sure the bottom of the lands are fully cleaned out. I use an old broken ring ground square for this job, make sure there's no burrs on the sides of the ring, if you make the ring lands wider you're wrecking the piston.

I pre load and top load the stock cylinders, I put the piston in from the top then push it through, just enough to insert the pin, clip and bed the cylinder. To do this I already have the opposite clip pre-installed and sealant on the bottoms.