Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: L-Jetronic/Engine Rebuild
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Banham361
Hello There

Please be gentle as I am New to air cooled technology but I can be a quick learner.

I am about to rebuild my 75 1.8 motor to a 2055cc. My question is: do i have to either change or upgrade the L-Jetronic FI to cope with the increased power/capacity.

Many Thanks
Tony

PS...............HAPPY BREXIT DAY piratenanner.gif
Tdskip
Welcome Tony - good to have you with us on the forum.

Short answer - you should be fine as far as FI goes if everything else is healthy.

Longer answer - this is a pretty frequent topic of discussion and there is a wealth of material here. Easiest way to find it is to actually use Google to search this site. Try something like this;

"914world.com 2056 Ljet"

But omit the quotes, you'll find some excellent prior discussions that way. By all means do ask follow-up and clarifying questions.
Porschef
Greetings

I too am running a 2056 with an Ljet system. Will file my disclaimer relatively quickly here but I have done some tinkering/adjusting/replacing and have gotten the car to the point where I’m very happy with how it runs.

Suffice to say that your engine will run with the factory system. The three items that I’ve found made the most difference are, in no particular order, a wide band AFR meter, a larger throttle body, and a 123 distributor. My only complaint, if I can call it that, is running at initial start up. I’d like to be able to turn the key and experience an elevated idle speed followed by a proper idle. I do need to feather the throttle for about 30 seconds at cold start until it will run by itself.

That said, you’ll appreciate the extra oomph provided. beerchug.gif
Banham361
Thanks Guys

Porchef..........did you use the standard camshaft.

Tony
Porschef
No

The engine was rebuilt featuring a 9550 cam, Keith Black pistons and AA cylinders.

Mark Henry