Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Horn help please--1973
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
914xr75
Hi everyone, I've gone through the horn posts and tried to do everything correctly, but I still cannot get my horn to work. I purchased the horn contact ring from Sierra Madre. I've added nylon insulated washers to the Batwing. I have switched out the relay from a working headlight. I have also put in a new fuse. When I touched the horn contact ring female spade terminal to the steering wheel nut I can hear something electrical making almost a clicking sound. When I check it with a meter I am getting 12 + volts when I touch the nut with the terminal.

I pulled the horn and checked it on a battery and it works. I sanded down the horn contacts and added dielectric grease. I am not an expert with the multimeter but I did hook up a negative and positive to the leads that connect to the horn and when I touch the nut I was getting a very small amount of current less than a half volt. I did drive it without the Batwing connected to the wire and the turn signals did not cancel. However they did not cancel before I got the new Sierra Madre contact ring. question about the area where the wire comes out of the steering wheel. Is the hole supposed to be on the top left side or the bottom right side? You'll see in the picture that mine comes out of the bottom right side.

When I purchased this car it had an aftermarket steering wheel. I bought a 914 wheel and batwing off of Craigslist and it fit. what am I doing wrong? Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment
FlacaProductions
Have you checked that your horn actually works? Can you get 12v directly to it? Do you have one or two? Can you see it/them behind the front fog light grills?
914xr75
I removed the horn from behind the bumper and hooked it up to a battery. It does work. I have a single horn.