Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Cleaning Aluminum
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
John
I would like some suggestions as to what to use to clean and "brighten" aluminum such as an engine case.

I don't want to media blast the case. I know this would clean it but would end up leaving a more rough surface finish that I would like.

I would like to use some sort of cleaner/brightener. I plan on using a pressure washer or a spray type parts washer.

In searching the web I have found only a few types that can be bought in small quantities (like a gallon).

Thanks for your advise.
bd1308
I was wanting to use Simple Green cleaner with my pressure washer, but the little detergent nozzle system is broken.

I used Simple Green and love it.
spare time toys
Go to your local truck stop and get a big can of never dull. I used it back when I drove truck for a living and it worked great for polishing and chrome or aluminum on the rig. It will take some elbo grease but well worth it.
tat2dphreak
I'm going to Hijack a bit...

my tranny is CAKED with greasy crap... I tried engine brite, and it seemed to soften it, but not really cut it... just loosen it enough for a wire brush...

any ideas?

hijacked.gif
John
my tranny is CAKED with greasy crap... I tried engine brite, and it seemed to soften it, but not really cut it... just loosen it enough for a wire brush...

I plan on using the pressure washer with HOT water and something similar to simple green to get the real grime off.

I found a product called Aluma Kleen which claims to be an aluminum brightener (biodegradeable) and also a product made for aluminum dip tanks (Aluminum Hot Tank Cleaning Compound). This second one seems like it would work well in a spray type parts washer or in a hot tank. (www.janisan.com/powders.htm)

Anyone ever clean this stuff up short of media blasting?

I may try a transmission shop...
MattR